Becky Says...

March 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 19

The entry is here.

March 18

A friend shared information with me today from this group, about an ongoing effort to, as they say it, "keep the light of reason and hope burning." It's an interesting idea. And at the risk of sounding like your mommy, please be careful if you decide to participate. Burning down your home is not a good idea.

I don't have a whole lot else to say tonight. It has been a day of both quiet, reflective moments and intense frenzy. Those latter, frenzied moments have made me wish for more of the former.

But one funny, if frenzied thing: a potential client called the law firm and wanted me to tell her when (name of attorney) would return her call. I had no way of knowing, and told her as much, very politely, of course. But she kept rephrasing the question, apparently hoping that if she did so often enough, I would magically get over being too stupid to tell her what she wanted to know.

Unfortunately for her, I didn't.

March 17

In case you've wondered why some of the entries have wound up on the domain space, it's because there's more server updating going on at Diaryland, and sometimes I can get in to edit but not to post. So I jump in to put in a link to the entry. The best way to find the most current entry is to come through the domain's index page and click the link for current entry.

In contrast to yesterday's seriousness, today I'm going to confess something you may have suspected all along. I have a smartass streak.

I have long known this about myself. And on days like today, I let the streak take over my choice of jewelry for the day.

Becky's Leprechaun pin

I found that pin twenty-some years ago, in a bookstore in Gastonia, NC. I don't think I've missed a year wearing it, for at least part of the day. I did lend it to a friend for an afternoon one year, but otherwise, I've worn it.

It's fun to see the reactions the pin gets. Most people don't quite expect that punchline, but they don't know what it was they did expect. And that pleases me, because my favorite jokes are the ones where I can't see the punchline coming.

And a bit of silliness in a day filled with war and threats of war can't be a bad thing.

Text and image � copyright 2000-2003 Becky