Becky Says...

February 2003

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






February 9

Not to sound like an airheaded fluffball, but I'm at a point in my life where I really can't worry much about things I can't control or contribute to---like wars or threats of wars. I'm too busy surviving. The challenges of my day-to-day life are numerous at the moment.

They're not bad, just challenging. For instance, for the past couple of weeks, both Wendy and TC have been ailing with respiratory things. So it was my job to stay healthy. While I'm sorry they've been under the weather, I was glad to be able to avoid the ailment and certainly happy to pitch in where needed.

And on Friday, office dog Zoe made it clear that it was high time I learned the tennis ball game. Same tennis ball she discovered in December, but now there's a game to go with it. It's a variation on catch, wherein the ball is gently tossed to the dog, from a very short distance. Zoe prefers to have the ball aimed directly at her mouth---see, that's why it's gently tossed!

Anyway, Younger Partner was watching Wendy teach me how to play catch with Zoe. He pointed out that what Zoe was having us do was toss the ball in such a manner that she could just wait for it to reach her. She didn't even have to lift her head to catch it. She could stand patiently, knowing the ball would get to her. Yes, Zoe has taught us another lesson in getting things done.

The three of us went on to discuss the fact that Zoe has rules---that she makes, I mean. One of her main ones is the doggie version of if it isn't broken, there's no need to fix it. That's actually a pretty good one, and one I try to remember even when Zoe isn't nearby to remind me.

As I said to Younger Partner, I long ago embraced my inner Zoe.

Text � copyright 2000-2003 Becky