Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 26

The day got gone before I got through with the planned entry, wilch will wait till tomorrow. Hope you're all enjoying being off work, or that work wasn't too taxing.

December 25

Christmas Ornaments - 2002 arrangement
The ornaments and I wish you a Merry Christmas!

Much of today was filled with music. I sometimes forget how much I love music. I don't forget that I love it, you understand; merely the intensity. Anyway, today I had a gracious plenty of it, some as audience for televised performances, and some I played for myself. There were old, traditional pieces and some new works. I won't try to give you a list, but think Christmas and you'll probably be able to come up with your own list.

It was especially fun to get to watch the PBS broadcast of this year's Christmas concert from St. Olaf College. My late chosen brother D. was a music major there, and had participated in one of the choirs (it was a requirement). Until that point in his life, he never thought he could sing. I am pleased that he ran into teachers who could show him the error of that thought, and that he spent the rest of his life enjoying singing. Of course, he was also a very gifted organist, so it was not at all surprising that he was a church music director.

One Christmas season, I had written a flute descant on "Greensleeves." D. and I used that as the offertory music for a church service (that's the music being played as the offering is gathered and brought to the altar, in case that's a foreign term). That was a wonderful time for me.

Good music and good memories. Altogether, a good Christmas.

Text and image � copyright 2000-2002 Becky