Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 23

People, you can save each other a whole lot of trouble if you just pay attention to the people for whom you're buying something. Take cologne, for instance. I doubt I'm alone on this one: if it isn't a scent I like, it won't get worn. I don't give a damn how expensive it is.

If you ever want to know what scent to give someone, start sniffing around. If a real sniff won't work, then snoop a little. Look on dressing tables or dressers. Check bathroom counters or (gasp) look in the medicine cabinet. If you find more than one scent, sniff the bottles and try to figure out which one your intended recipient wears. If you're known to have a non-sniffing nose, get someone else to help. If all else fails, ask.

If this hint for shopping comes too late for you this year, well, at least discreetly present the receipt with the cologne.

December 22

Candace's snowflake for 2002

Okay, we can have Christmas now. Candace's snowflake is finished. As I write, it's drying, hanging by its loop from a magnet in my kitchen.

There are just certain things that absolutely have to happen in order for it to be Christmas for me. Candace's snowflake is highest on my has-to-happen list.

'Tis the Season - December 21

Ordinarily when I run into friends while out shopping I don't think much of how it was that we happened to be in the same place at the same time. But every once in a rare while, I just know that I'm exactly where I am supposed to be for some purpose other than shopping. And one of those rare times was this afternoon.

The person I ran into was a long-time friend who's had a hard year. And was someone I needed to see with my own eyes, but our schedules have been at cross purposes for the past few months. I think it was a mutual need-to-see today. It was lovely to have a few minutes and a couple of hugs.

Today I was running late getting ready to go shopping, and then dawdled in the drugstore next to the grocery. Had I gone with my original plan, I would have gotten to the grocery much earlier. I would have missed my friend.

I'm very glad I didn't. It's always good to see friends and share moments. And in the midst of this last busy weekend when people are saying, "ho, ho, ho," through clenched teeth as they attempt to finish their shopping, it was a much-needed break.

In its own way, the whole experience was sacred.

Then again, 'tis the season for sacred.

Text and image � copyright 2000-2002 Becky