Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 19

It was a little odd today to eat lunch at my desk, after having dined elsewhere for the past two days. But it was not a day to go anywhere. It was rainy, and I was busy. I did remember to eat lunch, but it took a while.

Part of my job is to write checks to send along with documents to be recorded in the county Register of Deeds office. I think I sent at least six such documents out today. You wouldn't think writing six checks and mailing them with the documents would be such a big deal, but all those documents had to have copies made, and the various clients involved had to be sent copies, which meant cover letters and envelopes and labels, oh my. Oh, and filing the firm's copies.

Along with other things, that made for a full day and a tired Becky.

December 18

Not that this is news to me, but I work with a group of smart alecks at the law firm. I may not have said so before. Two of the attorneys proved the point today when they put entries onto the firm calendar for the next few days.

Younger Partner announced that he was going to the Carolina basketball game tomorrow night. Now this has utterly nothing to do with anything law firm related, since the game is at night, and the firm closes for the day (at least as far as client appointments) long before he plans to leave.

Then came an entry from Associate One, who announced that (again after hours) she was getting a haircut on Monday. She referred to it as a badly-needed one. That's her opinion; I think her hair looks fine but I understand these things.

In other firm news, we had a holiday lunch today. It was nice to sit around a table and have a chance to chat about things other than client matters. But we all ate too much, especially when the restaurant decided to serve large portions of dessert. After we got back to the office, I announced that our overeating was all Wendy's fault, since she had been the one who suggested that restaurant. She was too full to argue the point.

Hey---do not remind me about self control. I get my smart aleck moments, too!

We did actually get some work done during the afternoon, then it was playtime with office dog Zoe. One day last week Zoe found a tennis ball. It has become one of her favorite playthings. She wants to carry it around with her, for a good chew whenever it suits her.

This afternoon, she decided to share. She brought it to me, and put it in my lap. For many dogs, this is a hint for the human to throw the ball so the dog can go chase it. Zoe doesn't want that; she just wants to share. And she's very particular about these things, so it made me feel very much loved when she chose me as her playmate.

A good meal, joking coworkers, and being loved by a dog. Life is indeed good.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky