Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 11

I'm brooding about something. Several of my relatives are trying to manage my life, at least the Christmas holiday part of it. There's a family get-together planned for the weekend between Christmas and New Years, and I first heard about it last weekend, while I was much more concerned with surviving the ice storm's aftermath than with holiday plans.

My response to the cousin who mentioned it to me was a quick note that basically said that I'd be back in touch in a few days when I could think more than five minutes ahead of myself. I mentioned that I was away from home, and was dealing with no power, etc.

The invitation itself did not ask for a response; the gathering is not for a meal or anything else where one more or less person will make a difference. In fact, the person who mentioned it was not the person hosting the gathering, but was another cousin.

Well, you would have thought I announced plans to go do something scurrilous instead of seeing the family. Please note that I did not say no. I said I'd let them know, based on how things worked out for me. I have now heard from two of the cousins, basically trying to lay a guilt trip on me.

So instead of feeling invited, I'm feeling pestered. And pestering Becky over something when she has already said she'd let you know is not a wise thing to do.

I have decided to wait a few days, until I'm no longer ready to scream at the pesterers, to reply.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky