Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 10

Some random things tonight. It's been a long day.

I have had two episodes recently where people used the phrase, "just a thought," before suggesting to me that I do something that was so mind-numbingly stupid that I would have to be insane to comply. Makes me wonder what the hell they were thinking with, since I do not believe either one had engaged a brain cell in the activity.

* * * * * * * * * * *

There are still over 14,000 people without power in this county alone, from last week's ice storm. It has gotten to the point where the state's Utilities Commission is investigating to see if Duke Power could be doing things better. Latest flap here is that Duke only has workers making repairs in daylight, while other utility companies in the state are making repairs day and night.

I really do think that Duke Power would be getting much less flack if their statements were along the lines of how the storm was worse than predicted, the company was short-staffed, and they were doing the best they could. Oh, and if they'd stop the sanctimonious commentary about how they only ask workers to work in daylight for safety reasons, with its implication that the other power companies are being reckless to do otherwise.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Work is beginning to get back to normal. Yesterday, all of us there were wearing "casual Friday" clothes, but today we all dressed a little more formally. This all happened unspoken.

* * * * * * * * * * *

And a parting thought: kudos to the people who have worked to get the shelves restocked at the area grocery stores. I made a brief run today to pick up a couple of things that had been sold out on Saturday. I found everything I wanted, and could tell that other parts of the stock had been replenished as well.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky