Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 8

I'm home from Camp Law Firm. My way of knowing that the power was back on was to call my home and listen to myself on the answering machine. Knowing, though, that there had been instances around here of power being restored only to be lost again, and needing to get a few things done at the office anyway, I took my time before starting to pack up.

During the afternoon I called twice more, at intervals of at least an hour, just to make sure. After call three, I decided the power probably was on for keeps, so I came home.

And was delighted that the heat had been on long enough to have the place delightfully warm, and the water in the water heater hot. Neither of those had been the case when I was last here.

My heart tonight is with those who are still without power. It is not quite as cold tonight as it was the past two nights, but it is still bone-chilling out there. And although Camp Law Firm was a joyful thing for me, and all three of us were delighted to have the accommodations, I know Wendy and her husband would just as soon go home.

Younger partner called this afternoon, to check with us. He still didn't have power at his home, but was staying with a friend. TC (newer admin) and her family have a pine tree through their roof, and are missing a porch. Although I plan to go in, for all intents and purposes the office will be closed tomorrow.

If you ever need rescuing from a power failure, I hope you have friends like Wendy and her husband. They made the office into a wonderful home-away-from-home, and except for the fact that I really wanted to sleep in my own bed, I wasn't all that anxious to leave. Good company and four dogs---doesn't quite count for roughing it.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky