Becky Says...

December 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 7

Well, the Wendy-magic I mentioned didn't work quite as far as my apartment complex, which still doesn't have power. But that's okay. Camp Law Firm is open, and the food and the company are all good.

We got up this morning and decamped for our various residences, Wendy and her husband to tend their cats and get some more supplies, and me to get some things I needed and to make a grocery list. It's not easy to make a list of groceries when you're not quite sure where you'll be for a few days. But I managed.

My neighborhood store was still closed, so I went to the chain's branch closest to the office. I found just about everything I wanted, which both pleased and surprised me. The store wasn't too crowded, which also pleased me, but didn't surprise me quite so much, because I knew I was there during a Carolina basketball game. Around these parts, during a game is an excellent time to go somewhere. Right before or right after, not so good.

After my venture into the commercial zone, I came back to the law firm and started getting caught up on some journal reading. I also checked on some message board buddies in other parts of North Carolina, to make sure they were safe (they are). And then Wendy announced it was supper time.

She and her husband are trying to eat the food they would otherwise lose in the power outage, and were happy to have a dinner guest (aka me). She still had a little of the turkey she had cooked last Sunday, so I had turkey sandwiches. My comment when she said she had cooked it last Sunday was, "Oh! This is the turkey from the journal entry!" Which sent both of us into giggles, and left her husband wondering if we'd found a stash of booze or merely lost our minds. When we explained, he understood it was one of those journal things. Sometimes two journallers in the same room is guaranteed giggles.

The canines kept us company while we ate, and stayed around afterward. Lacey is much calmer today. Yesterday she had been a little skittish over the whole situation; not quite sure that she wasn't being abandoned and not at all sure what to make of me. Today, she's satisfied that her human parents have not brought her here to abandon her, and that I'm an okay Aunt Becky. Of course, Zoe still gets the lion's share of my attention (not to mention a bit of turkey); she's my best girl. The two little boys, Pippin and Kobe, both come over to get some attention when it dawns on them that I haven't petted them in the last five minutes or so.

Eventually I'll take some pictures of the storm's effects. At the moment, my camera is without batteries, since the ones in it were more needed for the radio, and the store was out of that size today. I think there are more batteries at my apartment, but at this point I can't find them. Sometimes all the candles and all the flashlights don't show you where you've hidden the batteries. Or several pairs of sweatpants, while I'm on the subject of things I can't find at home.

Meanwhile, stay tuned for furter updates from Camp Law Firm.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky