Becky Says...

November 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 21

Today was the law firm's celebration of my birthday. We had lunch at a nearby Mexican restaurant. It got off to an odd start, since I hadn't made it clear that I would meet the group at the restaurant  --- which dawned on me after I'd been there for about ten minutes. No real harm done; a quick phone call alerted them to my whereabouts, and they soon joined me.

The food was good, as was the company. Most of the conversation involved work-related things, with a smattering of conversation about UNC basketball (Younger Partner had been to last night's game, and was asked what he thought of this year's team).

After lunch we all got back to work, with me doing the final work on this year's renewal application for malpractice insurance for the firm. I had collected all the necessary information, but had to fill out the form. I think the form is actually an aptitude test for clerical staff...it's one where you have to take your best guess whether or not you need to attach an extra sheet of paper for any given question. The form itself is four pages of tiny print, with small spaces left for answers.

I will pat myself on the back for having figured out a good system for doing the thing last year, and saving the work very carefully. I made this year's changes (subtract one associate, add one associate; the other three attorneys have been in practice one year more than they had been last year, etc.), had Younger Partner read over it, and faxed the thing. And saved this year's information to use again as needed.

But don't tell the insurance company. That information might cause them to revamp the form.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky