Becky Says...

November 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 19

Today had two special events; one birthday-related and the other not. Well, maybe it was. Anyway, in order of occurrence, I'll tell you about them.

The first event of the day was birthday lunch with my friends. We went to a local restaurant where the friends often have lunch. Even though we all work in the same part of town, I don't get to see them all that often (blame schedules), so it was really nice to get together and just visit.

They're friends with the owner, and said owner often joins them for lunch. Today was no exception. Owner came over, sat down, started talking, and monopolized the conversation. I did finally get to talk with my friends for a bit after the meal, so all was not lost. And the food was good.

The second special event happened after I got to work. Office dog Zoe received a new woobie (stuffed toy). Senior Partner (known to Zoe as "Daddy") saw the woobie when he and Wendy (his wife, known to Zoe as "Mama") were shopping at lunchtime. The new toy was a blue fish. And Zoe was instantly enamored of it. She really likes blue things---so much for wondering whether or not she can discern colors.

As usual, it's fun to watch Zoe having a good time. But how this turned into a treat for me is that Zoe brought me the woobie. She had already brought it over for me to look at and admire, but this time she came to where I was seated and put it in my lap. Zoe is a Golden Retriever, but she's not much into having people throw things for her in the office. I knew I was being honored by being allowed to hold onto her new toy for a few moments.

The reason it might be birthday-related? The last new woobie in the office was Betty Bear, which Zoe checked out after I bought it for myself for my birthday. I think she may well have been returning the favor.

Good friends, good food, and a special treat from Zoe. All in all, a very good day.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky