Becky Says...

November 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 11

This would have been my mother's birthday. To mark the occasion, I've thought of a few anecdotes about her.

Two of my favorites, about Mother having skirt troubles, are told here. They still make me laugh, and are both stories she enjoyed telling on herself. So is the next one.

My mother always had a slightly irreverent streak, and not much patience with things she considered to be stupid. One instance of these coming to the surface was during her Army days.

She was doing office work when this happened, but I've forgotten where. What I do remember is that there was an insufferably stupid lieutenant in charge of the office. Mother took as much of the stupidity as she could stand. Then one day she lost all her patience at one whack, and her mouth worked before her brain. She got busted in rank for telling the lieutenant that he should have his pins in his diaper instead of his collar.

One of the things I miss most about my mother is the laughter we shared. She and I could get started laughing and go on for quite a while. Unfortunately, sometimes that meant it was a bad thing for us to be together in public. If something struck one of is as funny, it was likely to strike the other one the same way, and if that happened at a time when we were supposed to be being serious and sober, we didn't dare look at each other.

I've said too many times to go looking for links that I was a lucky child to have had the parents I had. I mean that with all my heart.

For those of you following the sequence of events, yes, Daddy's death was three days before her birthday. I don't remember hers that year, but I do remember mine. That's a story for another day (umm, perhaps the 15th, but that's not a promise).

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky