Becky Says...

November 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






November 3

I'm ready for this year's elections to be over. I had thought North Carolina was going to be spared some of the nastier campaigning, since Jesse Helms is retiring and since the election season was shortened by a late primary. I guessed wrong. The ads are as nasty as ever, but since the candidates have less time to campaign, the ads are closer together. My mute button is about worn out. But out of curiousity, I have listened to some of them.

What we have, instead of Jesse Helms' people slinging dirt at a Democrat, are two Senate candidates accusing each other of changing their minds over the past few years on issues including NAFTA and Social Security, while spending equal time carping about how both of them have lived out of the state for a good while. With each new set of ads, the comments are a little meaner. And the ones featuring their supporters are more sanctimonious as time draws closer.

But they're not the only two candidates doing a barrage of ads. The state has a new congressional district this year that is another one of those multi-county and multi-region jobs. And the two candidates who want to represent those voters are flat out accusing each other of lying. Something to do with who was sued by whom and why, and one of them has a child doing a commercial refuting the other one's charges. It's not pleasant. And damned if I know what either one of them wants to do in Congress. It's okay that I don't know; they're not in my district. But I'd be hunting for a write-in if either one were supposed to represent me.

There are a few other candidates, mainly for local offices, doing ads in these last few days, but nothing to equal the ones I've described.

I'm glad there are just two more days of this.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky