Becky Says...

October 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






October 26

Happy Anniversary to David and Mark. I love a good love story, and theirs is a good one, from Mark's writing to David in the first place through now, as they are doing the happily-ever-after thing.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I have been late getting to work the last two days of this week because there have been mowing crews working along the sides of my road. Actually, they're not mowing anything, they're chopping weeds. But they and their machinery take up one lane of the two available, so we get to wait in line, patiently or otherwise, to let the traffic from the other direction come past them.

You may wonder why I think this is noteworthy. Well, it's because I've lived here a long time and I've never seen anyone chopping those weeds before. I'm not exactly sure I knew there were weeds growing in the path the choppers are attacking with heavy equipment. Hmm. I wonder if someone in the road maintenance section planted a few for job security.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I had occasion on Friday to go to a grocery store I don't usually frequent because it's off my normal path. It's another in a chain I do shop at, though, so I'm familiar with the products. But this store is set up weird, in terms of what's where, and the lighting is such that many areas of it are as dark as mood lighting in a bar.

I'm not sure if the intent is to promote romance; if so, they need to realize that the stereotypical meet-and-get-involved in such stores does not take place in, say, the detergent aisle. And there are definite mood-killers abounding, in the presence of those itty-bitty shopping carts designed for use by itty-bitty kids. Getting one's shins smacked is not conducive to murmuring sweet nothings.

* * * * * * * * * * *

And that's it for today.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky