Becky Says...

October 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Aunt Becky Says - October 21

Dear Candace,

Happy Birthday! I can't believe you're thirteen now, but I am delighted to help welcome you to a new stage of your life.

When you were just a wee babe, I asked if I could be your honorary aunt. That comes from loving your mother as though she were my sister (she's one of my chosen siblings, of course), and wanting to have a special place in your life.

I suppose, in terms of living up to my auntly duties, I should offer some words of wisdom on this august occasion. But I think I'll skip that. You're doing beautifully. I'm very proud of you.

You are doing so many different things these days it's hard to keep up with you. I hear of your various successes, and smile for you. Umm, I'm one of your biggest fans. But I think you know that.

I hope you know that your presence in the world was a real source of joy to my mother. She was always delighted beyond talking about it when you came to visit. And I thank you for honoring her life by remembering her.

And your presence in the world has made my life a happier one, too. You have also brought a lot of good things to your parents. By the way, I'm sure you don't need me to remind you that you have a very good family, and that all those people love you.

So no advice, except to enjoy the day. Instead, on this day when we celebrate the anniversary of your arrival, I will wish you joy.

I love you.

Aunt Becky

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky