Becky Says...

September 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 30

One of my less-than-stellar habits is keeping pieces of paper long after they are necessary. I'm talking about things like grocery receipts, not love notes. I actually have both, but vastly more grocery receipts.

Anyway, I'm telling you this because I have spent an inordinate amount of time in the last few days looking through the pieces of paper that have accumulated in my handbag over the last couple of months. I've been throwing out the ones I don't need. It is making the load on my shoulder ever so much lighter.

If you have spent much time at all being a grown-up, you'll know what I mean when I say there are a lot of things more fun than deciding whether or not a piece of paper is important. Depending on the piece, you'll get conflicting advice. Especially if it's related to insurance or taxes.

Back during my mother's illnesses, I was in charge of a collection of Explanations of (Medicare) Benefits sent to her. After one surgery, I had so many of them I threatened to use them as wallpaper. My favorite of that batch was one in which it was very carefully explained that since her physician had not entered the correct code number for a blood test, they weren't going to pay him the three dollars for it, and Mother might well be liable for the charge.

The physician's office staff and I had a good laugh over that one. As I recall, they refiled the thing. I'm sure I never got a bill for it.

Forget wallpaper for that one. I should have put it in a frame.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky