Becky Says...

September 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 29

Of late, my weekends have been what could best be described as lazy ones, to make up for the busyness during the weeks. This weekend was no exception. I was tired, and all I really wanted to do yesterday was stay in and do as little as possible. That meant, of course, that grocery-getting got put off till today.

I should have swapped days and done the stay-home thing this afternoon. I think everyone in the greater metropolitan area decided today was a wonderful day to get groceries, and most of them were at the store around the same time I was.

I got the things on my list, dodging little old ladies with laden carts as I went. And then came checkout madness. I got in a reasonably short line, wrote the first part of my check, and realized I was dealing with a chatty cashier who wasn't completely paying attention to what she was doing. I knew I might be in for trouble. I was right, but it was minor and fixable --- she forgot a coupon; I would up catching it before I was through with my check.

After that got sorted out, I braved the rest of the crowds to get out of the store, then did the parking lot dance to get back to my car. That's the dance where with groceries in hand, you sidestep around people standing on the sidewalk gazing off into the distance, cars parked a little weird, and parents pushing strollers.

It would be an understatement to say I was glad to get home. And next Friday night, when I'm planning the weekend, would one of you be so kind as to remind me of this?

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky