Becky Says...

September 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 19

Fifteen years ago today, two very significant things happened; one for me, and one for my friend Donna. Mine was less significant, but I'm still pleased about it. Oh---you want to know what I'm talking about? All right. I bought a car, and she got married.

And now, fifteen years later, I have the same car and she has the same husband. Katie the car is wonderful and dependable and is in great shape. Similar things can be said for Ronnie the husband, come to think of it.

Earlier today I sent the two of them an anniversary greeting, and said I wasn't sure what had happened to those fifteen years. Of course, I can tell you the significant things that have happened in the time, but I don't feel much older than I did that Saturday back in 1987.

Katie and I have gone many miles together. Donna and Ronnie have, too. Here's hoping we all have many more happy anniversaries.

September 18

Bits of the day.

I've been cleaning the computer keyboard over the last couple of nights, taking off a few keycaps at a time and removing the accumulated debris. So far, I've found about half a cracker's worth of crumbs, and a lot of lint.

There have also been some hairs, interestingly twisted around the spring mechanisms. I'm not surprised that there are hairs, but the twists have been intriguing me. It's almost as though some keyboard-sized hairdresser has been winding the hair on the springs as if the springs were rollers.

Late this afternoon, as I was about ready to leave the office, the senior partner, newly missing his tonsil, called to see if Wendy (his wife) had left. I told him she had, and approximately when. Since I had already asked Wendy how he was doing, and I could tell from the sound of his voice that he was not happy talking, I decided not to ask him for an update. I figured the kindest thing I could do after telling him what he wanted to know was to let him off the phone.

Other hours of the day have also been spent doing quiet things. It's been a peaceful day, all in all, and it was good.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky