Becky Says...

September 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 16

There have been many moments at the law firm over the years when I've had to be Wendy and me---just as there have been many moments when she's had to be Becky and herself, but she's been there longer so it isn't such a stretch. Anyway, today I had a whole new experience. I had to be Becky, Wendy, and TC (the no-longer-new secretary's nickname, explained below).

I knew Wendy would be out all day. She was with her husband (the senior partner at the firm), who was having his tonsil out (yes, just one). TC's absence, however, was not scheduled. In fact, I didn't know she was out until well after I expected her to be back from lunch (remember, I don't come in until lunchtime).

Turns out she had left a message with one of the attorneys that she was out sick. The attorney thought I knew, so didn't tell me. I finally found out when, in being Wendy, I checked Wendy's voice mail and found an early-morning message from TC, intended for either of us to hear. We'll nevermind the fact that I had been at work several hours before things slowed down enough to let me check the messages.

And the nickname? Well, shortly after she started working with us, someone unfamiliar with TC's background came into the office one day and asked her how the new job was going, ending with, "is it too complicated for you?" TC was polite (she's Southern, remember), but she was quick to inform the questioner that the job was going just fine. The phrase became a joke, and the joke turned into a nickname.

I'm hoping TC is well tomorrow, so that if Wendy can't come back, at least there will be two-thirds of us around. It's gotta be easier being one-and-a-half than three.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky