Becky Says...

September 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 13

This has been an interesting week. I've seen some really passionate commentary about the events of last September 11. Some has struck me as being sensible; some has struck me as being bizarre. I think I'd better change the subject now.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I've spent a lot of time this week starting new files for clients. This is one of my favorite things about the law firm job, in part because it calls on my detail-oriented self to do something where detail is important, and in part because it's history. The firm's history. And one of my favorite parts of setting up new files doesn't involve anything high-tech at all.

The part to which I refer is one of the final steps. It is to take the firm's ledger book and note in it that the file has been opened. That's all done with a pen, in a book that looks old enough to be entrusted with such valuable information. Once I've made the notation in that book, the file is officially open. I usually don't give the file folders to the attorneys until I've taken the minute to add the entry to the book.

Because so much detail is involved and so much information is saved elsewhere prior to getting to the ledger book, it may seem unnecessary. But it's a back-up system, and quite frankly would be one of the easier things to remove in the case of disaster.

And if it were ever to be declared officially no longer necessary, I think I would ask to keep it updated anyway.

Just because I love it.

* * * * * * * * * * *

My sense of history is also happy to have a journal anniversary to note: Mark has been at this a year yesterday. Happy Anniversary!

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky