Becky Says...

September 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






September 1

One of my chosen siblings has a birthday today. As has become our custom, I sent via e-mail a note to him to commemorate the occasion, and got back from him via e-mail a note thanking me and filling in the details of his life since we last were in touch early in August.

He had sad news to share. A friend of his, for whom he had been caring, had died toward the end of last month. It was a long, slow death, not unexpected at all. My sibling had been the primary caregiver, and had been present at the death.

This loving, wonderful person has done something I don't know that I could do...be present at a death. I can only imagine how much it meant to the friend. I can only imagine how difficult it was to be the one present.

Something I don't have to imagine, since I have long known my chosen sibling: what he did for his friend was quite normal for him.

It was simply another act of love.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky