Becky Says...

August 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 15

Entries like this one are a major factor in why I have so much respect for David. I grew up further west in North Carolina, but the lady he writes of could easily have fit in in my hometown. And the hypocrisy? We had plenty.

Luckily, that didn't rub off on me. I was not brought up to honor prejudice. I was brought up that no one was better than I am, but no one was beneath me, either. I was not allowed to use prejudice-laden words.

I don't have much room in my soul for hypocrisy, or for bigoted thinking. And I'm opposed to liking or disliking a whole group of people for any reason. Especially groups of which I'm legitimately part.

That upbringing has served me well. I have met and appreciated people of all sorts during my lifetime, and continue to do so every day. I think it would be a real shame if I had to waste my time disliking someone because of some group affiliation.

I particularly would hate realizing that for some narrow-minded reason I had passed a chance to know someone who would have enriched my life.

I'm glad I haven't had to have those regrets. I wish the same for my fellow humans.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky