Becky Says...

August 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






August 7

A company in the Bay Area of Califirnia, called meals to go (dot) com, has sent me no less than six pieces of spam tonight, suggesting that I place an order. All six pieces of spam have come to my Counsel Giver site's mailbox, with variations on the name (why they chose to use "er" at counselgiver.com is beyond me, but whatever...).

Now I can pretty well figure out where they got me. I know who has links to that site. I know one of those links is from David, whose prominence in the area gets him a lot of unwanted business offers, too. And I happen to know he does not take it kindly when idiots impose on his friends.

I'm sure no one bothered to READ the part about me at Counsel Giver, because I make it rather plain that I live in North Carolina. And in case you haven't guessed, I rarely order meals from San Francisco. I don't care how many jets the restaurant may have handy, usually I'm hungry way before the food could arrive.

Anyway, if any of you in the area are so inclined, I'd like to get a message to them. Would y'all call these twits and suggest that their advertising is being misdirected, and that if they REALLY want my business, they're going to have to open the Chapel Hill area branch of the joint, and do a much better job of impressing me? I am hesitant to put their phone number in this, but I will share it with any who would like. It's a toll-free number, by the way, so anywhere in the area would do.

I'm not really angry about this; I'm actually rather amused. Or I would be, had there been only one piece of spam. But as more and more arrived, it got less amusing. By the time pieces five and six rolled in, I decided to tell you about it.

I'm going to end this and go to the kitchen now. All those food ads made me hungry.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky