Becky Says...

July 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 9

An assortment of things on my mind today.

There was a book a few years ago that tried to tackle the question of why unpleasant things happened in the lives of good people. I'm not quoting the title, not because I don't remember it, but because I don't want to get hits from people looking for it.

I read most of the book, but finally put it down after I realized what seemed to be missing from it was any sense of hope, or much recognition of the concept of hope. I see enough trouble all around me; I do not need someone trying to remove hope when there's no cause for the hope-ectomy.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Someone I've run into the last two days really doesn't like summer, to the extent that she will rant about it if other people in her presence have said they do like the season. I decided to stay out of that part of the conversation today when it came up. I agreed that the drought we're having is a bad thing. That was safe.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Two excellent. thought-provoking pieces you should read may be found here and here.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky