Becky Says...

July 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 7

I suppose by now most if us have received at least one copy of the spam from the person claiming to be related to someone in a foreign country and needing to get a large amount of money out, etc. I knew this was also sent to the masses by fax, but I hadn't seen it as such until Friday.

There I was at work at the law firm, and an incoming fax assured me that I could claim my share of unclaimed riches. Oh, no, it wasn't sent to me specifically. It was sent to whom it might concern at our fax number. I was just the lucky one who got to have first chance at it.

The letter this time was slightly different from the e-mail version. Its writer was quick to assure me that although his country of West Africa (yes, that's what was written, and I do know geography, thanks) frowned on the proposed transaction, the deal was not illegal.

That was amusing. It was not, however, enough to make me buy into the deal. It did allow me to laugh on my way to the shredder with the document.

* * * * * * * * * * *

We've just come off a holiday weekend, which makes this a good time to point out to readers that there are two easy ways to read the entries you've missed while off doing other things. You can either hit the "Previous Entry" link or go to the archives. Yes, that's a hint, and an example of Southern polite.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky