Becky Says...

July 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






July 1

A new month. A blank slate, of sorts.

And a new set of challenges. Today's for me is software that's crashing the computer. I'm pretty sure I know what is doing the deed, and am making plans to replace it. This is a nuisance more than a real problem, of course, but nuisance it is.

Of course, living in the computer dormitory means I'm pretty much guaranteed that there will be a computer available for my use, but it might not have on it what I want at the moment.

That reminds me: one of the fights I refuse to fight is the Mac versus Windows one. Both have their supporters; I happen to have Windows-based computers because that's what I have. The last time I bought a computer, I thought seriously about buying a Mac, and eventually will have one. But at the time, replacing all the peripherals was way outside what I had money to do, and I like my peripherals!

There was a thunderstorm this afternoon, about the time there were six extra people in the office for a meeting. Office dog Zoe does not do thunderstorms. Wendy decided the best thing for all concerned was to give Zoe a tiny dose of tranquilizing medication (prescribed for Zoe for such occasions as this), so that the girl would not be so bothered by the noise. It worked like a charm. Zoe didn't go to sleep during the storm, but she pretty much ignored it.

I wish a tranquilizer would let me ignore a crashing computer as easily as she ignored crashing thunder!

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky