Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 16

Although it's been six years today, I still remember the events of April 16, 1996, all too painfully well. That was the day I had to tell my mother that she was going to die, which is the hardest thing I've ever done and about which I wrote here.

Bits and pieces of that day have been on my mind all this day. This anniversary falls on the same day of the week, I'm back working at the law firm, and way too much of this week has dealt with life and death things already for me not to be thinking of it.

It's been a contemplative day, for the most part. I've been some combination of bristly and fragile. I have worn my cloak of bristles to protect myself from anyone who might not have been able to recognize the fragile face and who might not have understood that the face was subject to all sorts of melting and cracking episodes.

I haven't had to use the bristles too often, but they were there, just in case. I think the fragile appearance has been enough. Most people will go to great lengths to avoid causing the melting and crackling, once they recognize the fragile.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Although the commitment time is over for those who participated in "Saving Kymm's Soul," the ring of journallers started by Beth in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent, the list is still available.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky