Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 8

The updates are complete, so I am out of link hell, at least for the time being. I tell you, seventy-something links to be dealt with can be a pain. In all sorts of body parts. Even if all you're doing is checking to see if they're still live links. And the funniest thing coming out of this experience is that one of the people who caused the most work is not able to do her part of the link project for several weeks. She has legitimate reasons, and I'm certainly not angry. I'm just over here in my little corner having hysterical giggling fits.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Over the weekend, someone wrote to ask a question, which I answered. It occurred to me that others might like to know the same thing, so I'll go ahead and answer it here, too. The question was that since I obviously love pets, why was it I didn't have one. And the answer is that I really can't afford to give a pet the kind of life I think pets deserve. My rent would increase astronomically, and there would be vet bills and food and other expenses. There are a few other reasons, space and time being among them, but cost is the big one.

I did grow up with pets around, both dogs and cats. I've spent time in the company of fish and birds, too. But if I were going to have a pet, it would be a dog or a cat, most likely. I like the ways they let you know they respect and need you. I like the way dogs have of wanting to be in touching distance. I like it when a cat pays me the honor of wanting to sit on my lap. I like being trusted by animals---since they can't ask for letters of reference, they pretty much have to form their own opinions as to your trustworthiness.

All things considered, it's much better if I remain Aunt Becky to the pets of several friends, most notably at the moment to Wendy's crew. My deepest thanks go to the people who allow me to be Aunt Becky. And I take my Aunt Beckydom seriously.

Zoe, wondering if I'm ever gonna feed her---it had been a good fifteen seconds since her last bite.
Zoe, waiting for lunch

* * * * * * * * * * *

Although the commitment time is over for those who participated in "Saving Kymm's Soul," the ring of journallers started by Beth in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent, the list is still available.

Text and image © copyright 2000-2002 Becky