Becky Says...

April 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






April 6

Were she still alive, today would have been my friend Kathryn's 100th birthday. I hadn't thought about her age in a long time, though I usually do remember her birthday, even this many years after her death (which was in 1982). I've mentioned her to you before, most recently in connection with her gift to me of a wonderful music box.

Kathryn was a delightful person. Every bit the lady, she still managed to have a wicked sense of humor. She was not one to stand on ceremony when the occasion did not merit such formality. One piece of silliness we shared was during the Royal Wedding in 1981, which we happened to be watching together.

I had gone to South Carolina to spend the first part of my vacation with her, and we hadn't really planned to watch the ceremony. It just happened that we were both awake, and decided to check it out. After several hours of it, Kathryn decided we should never mind that it was early in the day for us, we should have a nip of something spirited to toast the newlyweds. So we got out the glasses and did just that, with Kahlua. At 10:30 a.m. Kathryn knew it was not something either of us would likely do again, and she was right.

I'm not sure which of us decided that as I was departing I should take a handful of individually-wrapped mints with me. But as it happened, when I got back to my mother's house, I still had one mint left. I never ate it. I kept it, as a talisman that we would see each other again.

That's the one time a talisman failed me. Kathryn died the next summer, before I had a chance to schedule my return trip.

I learned something valuable from her death. Kathryn and I were never in any doubt that we loved each other dearly. I learned that as hard as it is to lose someone you love, it is infinitely easier if you have that assurance firmly in place.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Although the commitment time is over for those who participated in "Saving Kymm's Soul," the ring of journallers started by Beth in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent, the list is still available.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky