Becky Says...

March 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 16

There has been a problem with this computer's power supply. It needs a new battery and a new adapter. Mercifully for my budget, both will be provided free under the warranty, and are on their way to me as I type.

If I were in charge of power supplies for laptops, I would insist on more durable cords. That's all I'm saying.

Anyway, the most frustrating part of this particular situation is that when the power dies, there isn't a CMOS battery to keep the clock going. So the whole system resets to January 2, 2001. Which means all my files, etc., go back to that date as their creation or modified date.

It's a good thing I'm not working on anything right now that has multiple drafts going. And it's an even better thing that when the date matters, I long ago adopted the habit of putting a date in the file itself. Otherwise, I'd think that all the journal entries for this past eleven months were written three months or so before I got the computer, and all on the same day.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Beth has started a ring of journallers who plan to update daily for the rest of Lent. The ring is called "Saving Kymm's Soul," in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent. She'll need a handy list of archives to search as she celebrates Easter, and we thought we'd help her out. The list of ring members is here.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky