Becky Says...

March 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 12

I don't have a lot of room in my soul for the pretentious. Or the arrogant. Sometimes those two are the same; sometimes not.

I don't have a lot of room in my soul for stupidity, either. And sometimes it partners with the two things above.

I do have a lot of room in my soul for deep, thoughtful things.

I love it when I am made to think. Not forced to do so, but presented with something thought-provoking. It inspires me, and makes me use parts of my brain that don't always get enough exercise.

I also love it when I am presented with the depths of someone else's thoughts; with evidence that someone else's brain has been exercising.

Back in my college days, I loved philosophy classes for exactly those reasons. I wish I could figure out a way to make a career of going to philosophy classes. Without having to teach them, I mean.

Sometimes, the philosophy expressed therein is why I want to continue to read someone's journal, by the way. Not that I expect a deep, thought-inspiring session every time I sit down to read journals. Umm, that would be pretentious on my part! Sometimes I continue to read because the writer is funny, or the daily experiences parallel my own.

Which is to say there is also room in my soul for the silly and the less ponderous things of life.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Beth has started a ring of journallers who plan to update daily for the rest of Lent. The ring is called "Saving Kymm's Soul," in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent. She'll need a handy list of archives to search as she celebrates Easter, and we thought we'd help her out. The list of ring members is here.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky