Becky Says...

March 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






March 11

Multiple topics tonight.

It's been a non-stop day, complete with a visit from someone who is rapidly becoming one of my favorite clients of the law firm. The legal matter on which she's seeking help is generating a ton of paper. We sometimes joke that we should start charging clients by the pound of materials filed rather than by the hour. In this woman's case, the firm would probably make more money.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Revisiting something, in case you were wondering or waiting for pictures: apparently the woman whose puppy chewed the afghan has decided not to have me repair it. I had told her in mid-January that I was free to start work on it after February 10. Well, it's now March 11 and neither the money nor the afghan has shown up. Since I do work on a first-come, first-served basis most of the time, I haven't refused any work on her account, but as I told a friend last week, it would have been nice if the woman had let me know. However, if I do say so myself, it's her loss. I do good repair work.

A lesson I learned from my mother is the notion that repairing something means you hold it close enough to think it to be worth the effort. I had been mending something that was important to me, that had gotten torn somehow. Mother came in to my room to see how the repair was progressing, and shared the thought. It really stuck with me.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Sometime I'll tell you about the watch and the quilt that were rites of passage for me. And the perfume and the black dresses, too. That topic---rites of passage---deserves its own entry.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Sister Betty has me thinking again about one of the recurring themes in my life: forgiveness. Go read that entry. I'm off now to reread it.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Beth has started a ring of journallers who plan to update daily for the rest of Lent. The ring is called "Saving Kymm's Soul," in honor of Kymm's pledge to give up reading journals for Lent. She'll need a handy list of archives to search as she celebrates Easter, and we thought we'd help her out. The list of ring members is here.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky