Becky Says...

January 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






January 31

In every journal's life, there are landmarks. The first hyperlink. The first visitor you didn't tell about the thing yourself. Anniversaries. And landmark hits to the site. Today there was a landmark hit to this site: 20,000. I am very pleased that I know who it was---I checked. It was none other than David. This was purely happenstance, but it pleases me that the hit came from a friend.

And I deeply appreciate the rest of you readers, too. You are a diverse, interesting group who write thoughtful e-mail. And I'm delighted you've made room in your days for me.

* * * * * * * * * * *

I decided I'd track the spam that came to my diaryland address this month, just to see what showed up in the box and to see if I was correct in assuming the vast majority of the stuff I get does indeed come through that address. And it does.

To accomplish this easily, I created a new mailbox on one of my domain accounts, and named it "probable spam." Diaryland mail all has to be forwarded somewhere else, so this was easy to change and seamless to anyone who wrote.

There wasn't much reader mail coming to diaryland this month; only two people used that address. Both were given a different address when I replied to them, and they certainly aren't counted in the spam crop. Other readers who wrote during the month had done so before, and had already been given a different address.

No mail was mistakenly assumed to be spam; I looked at each piece of it that arrived.

As of 9:05 p.m. today, I have received 142 pieces of spam to this one address this month. The last three days' worth of it (21 pieces) have been reported to spamcop, incidentally. And I must say, that's a lot of fun...I wish I'd started doing that earlier.

Stay tuned. I am planning some changes.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Doug has asked what we plan to do when spring arrives. Come tell us what you'd like to do.

Text � copyright 2000-2002 Becky