Becky Says...

January 2002

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






January 7

Going back into the world today was interesting, in terms of where there were still piles of snow and patches of ice. My first stop was at the grocery store, and getting there would have gone better had someone not decided that her happiness for the day depended on backing into her parking place and choosing the one next to mine in which to practice her reverse skills. No, she didn't hit my car, but she did resent that she had to stay put for a few seconds so that I could get out of the car. I could tell that by the look she shot me. I went on my merry way, being the polite girl I am, but if she was into mindreading, she picked up that I was underwhelmed with her driving and her attitude.

The store itself was a pleasant surprise---not at all crowded, and well stocked. I expected to be there much longer than I was, and was very pleased when that turned out not to be the case.

Getting across town to work was pretty normal. The roads had been cleared, until I got to the access road leading to the law firm. It still had some icy patches, but they were small enough that I wasn't really afraid of them. Then came navigating the office complex parking lot. Not all of the snow had been removed, which was to be expected. What wasn't expected is people thinking that since there were a couple of unusable spaces they should just double park.

Work itself went well. I made sure I left for home while it was still daylight, so I could see any hazards, on the road or in the parking lots. Sure enough, there were some oddly-parked cars in the apartment complex lot, too, but I don't think anyone would have had to search too hard for a good spot, since we have a good bit of parking.

I guess the snow brought out the bad mannered in our midst, and made them all want to prove their lack of social skills by parking as oddly as they could manage. All in all, it could be much worse.

Text © copyright 2000-2002 Becky