Becky Says...

December 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 31

It's late evening on New Year's Eve as I write this. I join a lot of other people in not being sorry to see 2001 end. It has been a difficult year for me, as it has been for a lot of people I care about. Yes, there have been some joyful things, but all in all, it was not the best year of my life.

I listed in the holiday letter some of the good and bad things that have happened this year. I won't rehash the list here, but I will say that I'm deeply grateful for the good things, and grateful to have come through the bad ones.

One thing I didn't mention is that I'm glad I've had chances to be more outspoken this year. It is largely through this site that the outspoken parts have happened, and that's a wonderful thing. As an example, this is the year I said in public what I really wanted for my birthday. Oh---applicants are still welcome for that.

My wish for all of us is a safe, peaceful, prosperous new year, wherein the joyful events far outnumber the sad ones.

December 30

The nicest Christmas treat this year was not given just to me, but to everyone in the Chapel Hill area who ever uses the local bus service. After several attempts, the towns and the University (UNC-Chapel Hill) have figured out how to make the service available for free. This is being done in part as an effort to cut down on the area parking problems, and I believe it will help.

But I'm taking it personally in a good way. This will save me money any time I want to go to downtown Chapel Hill. It will also let me go some other places where having a car is not a good thing. All around, it's a win.

I've spent some time today watching year-end coverage. Some of the things mentioned that happened early in the year have been so overshadowed by the events of September 11 and following that it's a good thing news agencies keep archives. Otherwise, while we might remember the events happened, we might well think they happened far earlier than they did.

Another thing I did was take some time to read journals---this is not an unusual thing! But it is unusual when a journal entry is so beautiful that it moves me to tears. Sister Betty's for the evening of December 29 did (it's at the bottom of the page).

As you ring in the new year, please do so safely. If you're going to play with fireworks, make sure you know what you're doing. And absolutely do not drink and drive.

* * * * * * * * * * *

The Christmas decorations pictures may be found here, if you would like to see them.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky