Becky Says...

December 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 22

Today was a day of much rest and a few errands. I needed to do a few things around the apartment, and I did those that struck my fancy. Other ones I left for later.

I saw some postings on a forum about holiday cards and letters and such, and some of the people seemed to think it was impersonal to use address labels on those. Well, this year, I did use address labels on the ones I sent by snail mail, for a good reason. The envelopes were red. It was ever so much kinder to postal workers to make the addresses a little easier to read by using white labels on those envelopes. If anyone wants to think it was impersonal, then so be it.

I get some greetings each year with labels on them, and I'm grateful that the people who sent them have chosen to remember me. I'm not too worried about how they chose to make sure the address was on the envelope.

As a public service to those in need of help finding ways of procrastinating in the next few days, the link to Elf Bowling (and the sequel, along with other games) may be found here. Have fun!

December 21

All the work is ended, and the day is about over. And I'm tired. Mainly, I'm glad to be home and out of the traffic for the day.

At this point, most of the UNC students have left town for the holidays, but what many of us forget is that a lot of college-age people who grow up in Chapel Hill go elsewhere to college. When they come home for holidays, they bring three or four cars each, I think. That's the only good explanation I can give you for all the traffic today. It took me twice as long as normal to get where I was going when I went to exchange Christmas gifts with some friends this afternoon.

Of course, extra traffic brings some strange driving. I had tried to be nice and let some man out of a parking lot. He managed to nose his way into the left-turn lane, but his car was still more than 90 percent in my lane the next time the light changed. You guessed it: I and all those behind me had to wait for a second cycle of that stop light before we could go our not-quite-so-merry ways.

Had I been the man, I would have gone straight through that intersection and turned around, rather than block so many other cars. I suspect he didn't think of that fast enough to make the required move, or he was a visitor to town and not familiar with the intersection. But he really did create some chaos. Ah well, I did manage to get where I was going.

One really pleasant thing I had a chance to do today was read this entry of Wendy's. If you haven't read it, please do so.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky