Becky Says...

December 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






December 2

How I spent my Sunday vacation: I stayed home and did some things, rather than go shopping for crafts supplies. There were several reasons, not the least of which is that one store I might need to go to is not open on Sundays. So I decided it could wait.

One of the things I did was read e-mail. Even though I dislike spam, at least today's batch was different. I woke up to three or four copies of something in French, that upon scrolling was also available in English. The sender wanted me to buy flower arrangements. Don't know why I was supposed to want them, but at least it didn't involve some presumed need for medical assistance or my wanting to take out a mortgage on my (rented) apartment.

And I spent some time being lazy. I needed that.

Hope your day was pleasant, too.

December 1

Go read Bev's recounting of a World AIDS Day observance, if you haven't already. In it she also writes of a letter to the editor in which a man speaks of dealing with people who are "entirely normal."

And that struck me funny, because I don't know a soul who is entirely normal. I'm certain I'm not. And I'm certain I don't want to be, if normal is supposed to mean practicing bigotry.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Today's venture into the land of retail establishments took me to a few more places than I usually go on a Saturday. I needed some craft supplies. Found one thing, didn't find the other.

But on the way to not finding item two on my list, I worked up to a good case of cranky because of what I did find in the store. Too many narrow aisles and too many chatty shoppers in one place at one time. And they all seemed to congregate just in front of the shelf where the item I wanted would have been, except the store didn't have that item in stock today.

On tomorrow's agenda is another venture into the land of retail establishments, another set of them. With wider aisles.

Hope your weekend is going well.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky