Becky Says...

September 30, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






On Words

Using the wrong word can lead to confusion.

I really don't want to write about all the war talk I'm hearing, except to say I believe the word, "war," is not correct at this point. A friend speculated that perhaps it's being used because it's a shorthand term for what really is going on. I agree, but I want someone to come up with a better word.

I'm fairly picky about words. I hate using one that doesn't convey precisely what I mean. I wind up doing that on occasion, moreso in oral communication than written. But the more important the concept, the more I try to call it by its correct term. It just makes life easier.

Thinking about wrong words reminds me of a funny story on a friend of mine. He somehow developed the habit of using the phrase, "a couple of ...," when he meant "several," of whatever item. If he happens to be making a request, those not used to this peculiarity of his usually bring him two whatevers, since he has said he wants a couple. Which always startles him. He then has to remind himself that the listener has done precisely what was requested.

On those occasions when he means two whatevers, he says, "two."

See, saying exactly what you mean can get the result you want.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky