Becky Says...

September 27, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Back to Normal

My first clue that the call was a wrong number was when I did not recognize the name of the caller. But that might have meant she was a new customer, so listened to the rest of the message.

After I heard it, I realized two things: that the call was a wrong number; and, that at least in terms of fund-raising, the world is going back to normal.

The caller announced that the message was for me, using my correct first and last names. She went on to say she was from some college in the eastern part of the state. She hoped I remembered her, since she had not been there long before I "finished." And she said she would call back later that evening.

The part about me finishing there was my proof that the call was a wrong number. I don't even know exactly where the school is, and I'm certain that I never was a student there. That would also explain why I had never heard of the caller.

Being referred to as an alumna of the place was startling enough to make me want to hear the message again, to make sure my ears weren't playing tricks. It was during that second listening that I picked up on the fund-raising aspects---the caller said she was part of a group calling alumni.

And I don't think I was about to be asked to come serve on the Board of Directors!

At some point in the day, the caller must have realized that she had the wrong person. I never did get the return call. I wish I had. That would have been a fun wrong number.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky