Becky Says...

September 26, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Some Necessary Silliness

It's sort of reassuring to see silliness. In the midst of all the horrors associated with the aftermath of the terrorists attacks, it's comforting to see silliness return to television. And to other aspects of life as well.

There were several non-televised sources of silliness for me of late. Among them were the dog with attitude, the attorney with no identity, and the computer cords from hell.

Robbie, the dog providing attitude, of course, has been enjoying the past couple of days. The weather turned a bit cooler, and this has reinvigorated the boy. Yesterday he decided that he'd rather have different company on his lunchtime stroll, so he waited till well after Wendy had left for lunch to announce that he needed to go out. That meant Aunt Becky did the honors. This was all harmless fun; Robbie got his way, and I had an excuse to go outside on a pretty day. He was active the rest of the afternoon, too, checking out the rest of the office area to see if anything had changed since his last check.

The attorney with no identity called this afternoon, returning a call from one of ours. Our attorney, who had left for the day, had apparently left a message at this gentleman's office, which he was returning from his home phone. He must have been very tired when he called, because without identifying himself, he asked me if I knew why she was trying to reach him. That prompted me to say that since I didn't know who he was, I really didn't! He allowed as to how that was good cause, identified himself, and asked if that helped. Unfortunately, it didn't, but we both had a good laugh out of it.

The computer cords from hell had one of our partners and me both on the floor underneath different sections of my desk. I wanted an extension cord for the computer keyboard, so that I had a little flexibility about keyboard placement. The problem was there were a whole lot of cords bunched together behind one pedestal of the desk, which is against the wall. We had to separate them in order to make the extension cord useful. The attorney was on one side of the pedestal while I was on the other, as we worked with the cords. We were successful, and my keyboard cord does indeed have its extension. At one point, it struck me that any client coming in the door at that moment would have wondered if we were having a prayer service or were practicing for disaster.

I was also most grateful at that moment that Robbie was out with Wendy on the afternoon mail drop. He would have come to investigate had he been with us.

And that would have been just too silly!

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky