Becky Says...

September 23, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Sunday Fun

I've said before that I don't have much room in my heart for pretentiousness. And it's true. I just think it's really unnecessary, in ordinary life, to try that hard to impress people. If you really want to impress me favorably, don't pull out the pretense.

I had some fun today answering e-mail from an acquaintance who decided she needed to put on airs. I decided she needed to be gently deflated.

First off, last week she had to buy a new car. Her old one was past repairing. Now ordinarily, when someone talks about getting a new car, they tell you what they got. Not this woman. Instead, she wrote of having a new "vehicle" and needing to read the owner's manual for her new vehicle. At no point did she call it a car, but I'm assuming it was since she doesn't strike me as being the type for any other kind or vehicle.

My response to that was that it was always fun to learn the ins-and-outs of a new car. Yes, I said "car."

She went on to say that she is heading to a sales event next week, to which she will need to take product. No, I didn't leave out a word or an "s" there, she really did refer to the things she sells as "product." Several times in the paragraph.

Now, I happen to know what sort of merchandise she sells, and that there are several products (plural) involved. Since she is going to be trying to sell the things, I doubt she will only take one item with her.

When I answered that part, I wished her luck getting her things to the meeting. Yes, I called them "things." I almost said "stuff."

By the way, I'm sure she wasn't joking. And for any who wonder if she's from a foreign country where perhaps more formal words are the norm, no, she's from the southern United States.

She just has some need to inflate herself.

Me, I'm thinking she should save the extra air for the tires. Assuming, of course, that the vehicle has them.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky