Becky Says...

September 17, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Scary Place

The world is a scary place right now.

On the domestic front, I am much more afraid of the economy at this point than I am of the notion of another terrorist strike. That people do not want to spend money makes a whole lot of sense to me. I don't want to, either, but I have bills to pay.

Latest news I have heard is that there will be massive layoffs from US Airways, brought about by their sure and certain loss of revenue since National Airport will remain closed at least for the immediate future. Just what no one needs---more layoffs.

Something else we don't need is the religious blatherings of Jerry Falwell and Pat Robertson. According to them, the real cuplrits last Tuesday include those of us who do not toe the Religious Right line. My one hope from that spewage is that any residual respect these two had is now trashed. They need to go back and reread the Bible they keep quoting, only not in sound bites this time.

What we do need is common sense. It is my profound hope that common sense will rise to the top, above the madness that swirls.

And we need to have hope, for the present and for the fiture.

Those two things, common sense and hope, will quell a good bit of the fear.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky