Becky Says...

September 12, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Impressions from the Next Day

Everyone else has done a better job of being coherent about the aftermath of the attack than I am. Me, I'm shocked to realize how many people want to plunge America blindly into a war of some sort, quickly.

Admittedly, I was surprised at myself last night when someone on television suggested bringing bin Laden and crew to trial. My first thought was, "No! They might be acquitted!" Then I realized that was a horribly wrong thing for someone who believes with all her soul in the precept of innocent till proved guilty to be thinking. My thoughts switched over to hoping if a trial is held, the defendants get excellent defense counsel, to make sure their rights to a fair trial are upheld.

Sometimes even I who preach this sentiment relentlessly have to be reminded that piling wrong on top of wrong will not lead to right.

Scattered impressions from the day:

A local television station's website lost some credibility with me when they headlined a story, "Another Building Falls," instead of stating correctly, "Rest of Tower Falls." They were, of course, writing of the collapse of remaining portions of one of the Trade Center towers.

Life going on: at work, we were doing all sorts of normal things. The phone rang, the copier copied, the mail came and went. And the dog had a seizure. We had sort of seen that coming. It was the first time I've been around when Robbie had a seizure, and I was glad I wasn't there alone. I could have coped; it was nice for me that I didn't have to, and could instead pay attention to how his human helpers were helping him through it. The real goal is to keep him from hurting himself by banging into the furniture...better that he thumps a flexible surface, like someone's arm.

I came home and went to sleep. My usually short nap extended itself into almost the full night.

I woke to find the nightmare still going.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky