Becky Says...

September 10, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Favors

Here's your public service announcement from Beckyland regarding asking for favors. If you've really and truly made someone mad, or hurt that person's feelings, apologize before asking for a favor.

Otherwise, expect to be turned down. Especially if I'm the person you're asking.

I know we're supposed to turn the other cheek. But I also know it's possible to run flat out of cheeks to turn. Beyond that, I know it isn't good to reward poor behavior.

And in case you're wondering, this has less to do with forgiveness than with not allowing oneself to be a doormat.

I occasionally realize I've been too nice to people who don't deserve it. It's hard to back away from that, but I do try. I am trying to remember that I don't owe anything beyond common courtesy to people who have wronged me.

Not serving as the doormat keeps me from feeling so muddy.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky