Becky Says...

August 30, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






A Reminder

I'm going to reiterate something said before: if you want to write fiction, fine and doodly dandy. Just don't try passing it off as truth. And don't waste people's time by making them try to figure out which is which.

Especially don't bother making yourself appear too much larger than life. Because when the pin gets stuck in you, and it will be, the pop is loud and ugly.

I suspect many people who have online journals have either used pseudonyms or oblique references ("a friend") when describing people in their lives. Some people write under assumed names. This is not what I'm talking about. I'm really cool with that, and some of my friends have been assigned pseudonyms, for one reason or another.

But don't tell me you work as a nuclear physicist when you're really a fry cook at the local greasy spoon. Don't masquerade as an attorney or a physician or a clergyperson, either. Even if you know enough of the lingo to pull off the ruse, and even if you mean no harm.

It's just wrong.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky