Becky Says...

August 27, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






First Day Back

It is good to be back at the law firm. In terms of my immediate surroundings there, except that the desk setup is different, it was a lot like I had never been gone. The agreement that Wendy and I worked out is that I'll go in at lunchtime and stay the afternoons, by the way.

I got there just after Robbie had had a seizure. After she made sure Robbie was doing okay, Wendy left for lunch and errands and Robbie curled up next to me. I felt very special that he wanted my company for his lunchtime nap (there were other humans available). I suspect that after one of the seizures, Robbie wants company more than at other times. I'm happy to provide it for him.

By the way, if you ever see Wendy in action with the dogs, you will see one reason I hold her in such high esteem. Robbie was having some trouble with his back legs this afternoon, made worse by his being on a floor surface instead of the carpet. Wendy wrapped her arms around his midsection and held him securely while helping him walk until he had all four feet back on the carpet.

I spent some of my time today customizing the computer I'll be using, to change color schemes and screen savers to my taste. No offense to the young secretary who has left, but I really did not like what she had selected. But to each his or her own, and I'm sure she will customize the one in her new office to suit her.

And I got my set of keys to the place, so that if Wendy and I leave at the same time, Robbie will see that his people have been retrained. That was important. We don't want to make Robbie work too hard, after all.

I got reacquainted with some things I haven't done in a couple of years, and was pleased that I could pull stuff back to the front of my brain rather easily.

All in all, it was a good first day back.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky