Becky Says...

August 5, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Mail Call

This has been a high-volume e-mail day here in Beckyland, both incoming and outgoing. And none of it was spam. That is strange, but I'm not complaining!

Part of the volume was a series of back-and-forth notes having to do with an essay of mine that's going to appear on another site. That site's owner wanted to edit a couple of things, which was fine with me---her target audience is younger than my original one had been. I am oddly pleased to have been edited. It made me feel like a "real" writer. I didn't tell her that---it sounded way dorkier than I want to appear!

There were notes back and forth to a couple of friends that were pleasant to read and to write.

Then I got a chance to bite my tongue several times while reading and responding to a note from the worker drone. This time she was complaining that someone doing work for her company as an independent contractor was not working fast enough to suit her. Bear in mind she has no clue how to do the work the contractor is doing. I do know a lot about how to do the work, and have a rough idea how much time it will take the contractor.

But I had enough sense to stay out of that one. I didn't comment on it at all, in fact. I just chatted a sentence or so about my day, and wished her a pleasant week ahead. Apparently she is part of my life mainly to make me remember tact and diplomacy.

And to provide fodder for the occasional journal entry!

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky