Becky Says...

July 22, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Odds, Ends, Followups

Thanks to those of you who have asked about my ear. I am pleased that it is much better. I have not been awakened by it since Friday. And that pleases me. Having earaches takes me back to childhood in ways I don't want to go. I had one ear infection after another for a few years, and it would be quite all right with me if I never got reminded of them.

* * * * * * * * * * *

Although I know that a lot of people go to the grocery store on Sundays at about the point church services end, and I try to avoid the crowd, some days the timing just works out that it's best to go at that time. And today was one of those. I originally had planned to go later in the afternoon, but I realized I had finished doing what I needed to get done for the morning, and thought I'd take a chance on the crowd.

Not a smart move in terms of traffic. There weren't that many people in the store, but there were tons of cars in the shopping center's parking lot. The place is home to two restaurants, but they don't have enough space in them to handle the traffic the cars would indicate was in the center. Other than the restaurants, the grocery store, and a drugstore (not crowded; I went in there, too), the center is closed on Sundays.

Ah well, it was a pretty day, so I guess there were people out strolling the streets before lunch or groceries. Either that, or those restaurants are far better than has been my experience---I wouldn't stand in a long line for a table at either of them. They're good, but not that good. And except for the grocery and a drug store, other businesses in the center are not open on Sundays.

After I finished the shopping and came home, I checked my e-mail, then decided turning the computer off for the rest of the afternoon sounded like a wonderful idea. I had a book I wanted to start reading, and a nap I wanted to take. So I worked diligently on accomplishing both of those things.

I was successful.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky