Becky Says...

June 20, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






News of the Day

I have pleasant news to share. My favorite HTML Tutorial is back online. Saundra had taken it down last year during a journal housekeeping run. She mentioned last month that she was having trouble finding the saved version of it, and wondered if I had it. I did have a printout, and was in the process of scanning it so that she could have it again. But today she found the saved version, and tweaked it to fit her site.

I very much like the way that tutorial flows. I am delighted that more people will have a chance to use it. And I learned some things about using my scanner and separating text from graphics while I was working with the project, so it's by no means lost time on my part.

While I'm telling you news about Saundra, she was interviewed last week by the BBC regarding the Kaycee story. The interview may be heard here. Go to the pulldown menu for shows and click on "Science View."

And by the way---Saundra's entry today is excellent. If you haven't had a chance to read it, please do so.

I'm working for my most important client --me-- this week. I have mentioned that I have a new project coming, and that when it's ready to be seen, I'll fill in the details including where you may find it. It's not quite ready for prime time, but I'm very pleased with it so far. It will be a website based on a common-sense approach to life topics.

Common sense is something that matters a great deal to me. I suppose all of us have a slightly different perception of what that means. For me, it's a pragmatic thing; looking at what a situation is and deciding from that how to proceed. And in terms of making friends, I tend to gravitate toward other people whose amount of common sense is high, in my estimation.

That doesn't mean I don't have room in my soul for flights of fancy. Far from it. It's in part common sense that makes flights of fancy possible. Once one has a sense of the reality of the situation, one can spread out from that centering point to explore possibilities.

As an example, common sense tells us that man doesn't have wings, so man can't fly like a bird. But a flight of fancy based on that sense led to airplanes.

And on a much less grand scale, for me a flight of fancy has led to a small business, with the common-sense base of word processing and the spread-out into other things.

Tell us about your flights of fancy, if you'd like.

Text � copyright 2000-2001 Becky