Becky Says...

June 16, 2001

Entries
Current Entry
Previous Entry
Next Entry
Archives

Links
Personal Sites
and Forums/Boards

Diaryland
The Hunger Site

Communication
Write to me


Subscribe with Bloglines






Random Ideas

Some random thoughts that may grow up to be entries on their own sometime:

-- There's a phrase that annoys me no end: "Who says life should be fair?" Well, for one, I do. I recognize life isn't always fair, but that doesn't mean it shouldn't be. It certainly does not give us permission to promulgate unfairness. And people use the expression altogether too often in some attempt to excuse themselves for poor behavior.

* * * * * * * * * * *

-- One of the nicer things for me about turning 30 back when I did so was the realization that I had a right to have strong opinions, just like all the other grown-ups.

* * * * * * * * * * *

-- If I ever tell you that I wouldn't want to be on the wrong side of you in an argument, it is meant as a compliment. It means I think you seek truth and are not afraid to speak it. So I would not want to be the idiot spreading falsehoods!

* * * * * * * * * * *

-- I make a clear distinction between acquaintances and friends. The former do not always become the latter, but it's lovely when they do.

* * * * * * * * * * *

-- People who knock on doors at 2:00 a.m. should be sure they're welcome on the other side of said doors before even thinking of knocking.

* * * * * * * * * * *

-- Sometimes even those holding the complete opposite viewpoint can provide useful information.

Text © copyright 2000-2001 Becky